The Yellow Kubrick Road

stanley_kubrick-poster-detail

I’m currently going through a Stanley Kubrick phase so I thought I’d share my journey with you here on my very own little website! Of course I have seen and loved most of his classics (2001, A Clockwork Orange, The Shining, Full Metal Jacket & Eyes Wide Shut) however, I haven’t seen his earlier black & white works. I bought two boxsets last week, one including the Blu-ray versions of: Lolita, 2001, Barry Lyndon, A Clockwork Orange, The Shining, Full Metal Jacket and Eyes Wide Shut and another including: Killer’s Kiss, The Killing and Paths of Glory. Some of them do need a re-watch as I saw Full Metal Jacket a good three/four years ago now and I remember finding it tedious. I also saw Eyes Wide Shut a few years ago, however I remember really liking it despite its meandering pace.

So I invite you to join me on my journey as we discover and re-live Stanley Kubrick’s (mostly) wonderful works. Unfortunately, we won’t be starting with his feature length debut, Fear and Desire as it’s very difficult to get hold off and to be honest, I have very little desire (pun genuinely not intended) to see it due to its poor reviews. Stanley himself even called it amateurish and even likened it to a child’s painting on a fridge! I also won’t be including Spartacus because he disowned this film too.

Please see my complete (2001: A Space) odyssey below:

Killer’s Kiss

The Killing

Paths of Glory

Lolita

Dr. Strangelove: Or How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love The Bomb

2001: A Space Odyssey

A Clockwork Orange

Barry Lyndon

The Shining

Full Metal Jacket

Eyes Wide Shut

Ranking Stanley Kubrick’s Films

Leave a Reply

